My 2am Visitor

Last night was my first night in the bed of doom, so called because it feels like sleeping on a wooden bench, in fact I’d take a wooden bench over this ‘bed’ any day. The events of last night confirmed my suspicions that some invisible, external force is meddling with my life so that I end up writing more interesting posts.

Anyway due to my lack of comfort I woke up in the middle of the night to find I was not alone. At first I panicked, convincing myself that monsters under the bed were real and the furry thing next to me was just a really brave one. Then my sleepy brain started waking up and my eyes adjusted to find the deathly monster was actually a cat. I know, I know you’re probably thinking wow anticlimax much? And I agree but this cat was not all cute and cuddly, it was a really mean looking cat. We both stared at each other as if to say ‘What are you doing here?’ for a good ten minutes then it turned around, lay down and fell asleep.

Now I don’t know what you would do in this situation, but me being me I decided I must show this cat who’s boss or he’d stay here every night. I started to say excuse me then quickly realised it’s a cat and can’t talk. So I poked him gently. Nothing. I tried a little harder. Nothing. I lifted the quilt up under him making him tip over a little. Nothing. Too exhausted to try anything more I gave up thinking I’ll make more of an effort in the morning.

By the time morning came he was gone. I questioned whether the whole thing was just a vivid dream or bizarre reality. I settled on reality and made a mental (and now written) note to close my windows at night. Other minor odd things happened too but they aren’t as weird and I should really stop using this as an excuse not to revise. Eughh psychology.

Leave a Reply

