Please Just Take These Tokens From My Hands

See what I did there.. And you thought I couldn’t be creative. This post has nothing to do with Snow Patrol and a lot to do with book tokens/gift cards. Throughout my school life I’ve won prizes. You’re probably thinking jesus boast much? But I’m just being honest. Every year I would get the academic award. Never the endeavour as that requires year round effort so they gave me the ‘you suck through the year but somehow you do well in exams’ prize. And that prize was always a book token/waterstones gift card. It makes sense as a prize from school, nice and healthy. 

So I had like a stack of tokens left that I haven’t touched. It’s not because I don’t like to read that’s a downright lie. I read far too much. It’s because I prefer using the library because then you’re not left with a stack of books you’ve already read and have nowhere to put. Today I went into waterstones and stacked up seven books and plonked them on the counter. I then announced to the lady that I have all these cards and I don’t know how much is on each. ‘No problem!’ she cried a little too enthusiastically for my liking. Turns out I had so much money in the form of booky goodness that for the seven books I only used two of my cards. And my grand remaining total is seventy pounds. SEVENTY POUNDS! Why can’t I just exchange that for real money?! Sooo much more useful. Silly token giving peoples.

All stocked up with reading material for summer and my holiday to Bulgaria. Although I’m sure I’ll be too hungover to do much reading there. Regardless looking forward to the books and holiday in equal amounts. Not excited about DofE on sunday though. For those of you that don’t know what that is it’s the Duke of Edinburgh Award which is a scheme thing for walking etc. Google it if you’re that bothered. I’m going on the gold expedition on Sunday so that’s five brilliant days of eight hour walks carrying a bag that weighs just as much as me. Joy.

Rant over. 

Leave a Reply

